Town of St. George
In December 2000, Bermuda's 'Historic Town of St. George and Related Fortifications' were designated a World Heritage Site by the United Nations Educational, Scientific & Cultural Organisation (UNESCO), in recognition of their "outstanding universal value". St. George's is where Bermuda began. Known by mariners as the 'Isle of Devils', Bermuda became inhabited after an English ship, the Sea Venture, shipwrecked on the reefs off the East End in 1609.
Remarkably, the ship's company survived. All but two eventually continued with their original purpose—taking supplies to the starving settlement at Jamestown, Virginia. In 1612, "The Plough" arrived with Bermuda's first true settlers, to begin life in what is today the oldest continuously occupied town of English origin in the New World.
The Town of St. George, named after the legendary dragon slayer and patron saint of England, was Bermuda's capital for more than 200 years. Today, nearly four centuries later, evidence of its remarkable history abounds. While it is a popular centre of business and retail activity, it is the town's history, visible in its picturesque cottages, quaint lanes and alleyways, and its wealth of military, civic and religious architecture that attracts visitors from all over the world.
For suggestions on what to see and do in the Town of St. George, see Day Two of our "Ultimate Bermuda Culture Itinerary."